The following schedule is subject to change.

8:00 AM
Registration and Breakfast

8:30 AM
Welcoming Remarks


9:00 AM
Opening Keynote Address
“Towards a Distinctive Trademark Law for the 21st Century”

Professor David Vaver (Osgoode/Oxford)

10:00 – Health Break

10:15 AM
Panel: Geographical Indications

presented by


Panel Moderator: Prof. Margaret Ann Wilkinson (Western University)

12:00 – Lunch


1:15 PM
Panel: From Use to Registration:  A Paradigm Shift?


Panel Moderator: Elizabeth Judge, University of Ottawa

2:45 PM – Health Break

3:00 PM
Panel: The Expanding Scope of Trademark Protection


Panel Moderator: Andrea Slane (University of Ontario Institute of Technology)


4:30 PM
Closing Keynote ADDRESS
“Innovating Trademarks”

David Lametti
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Innovation,
Science and Economic Development


5:00 PM
Closing Remarks



This program qualifies for 6.5 Substantive Hours of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) for the Law Society of Upper Canada.

This program is accredited by a recognized provider for 6.5 Hours of Continuing Legal Education (CLE) for the Barreau du Québec.

This content has been updated on May 5, 2017 at 10:32 AM.